The Fort Lewis College Cycling Team has chosen the team that will represent the Skyhawks at the upcoming 2013 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals in Beech Mtn., NC on Oct. 25-27.  The team will be seeking it’s 9th consecutive Collegiate MTB title and 18th overall. These are some of the toughest decisions that the coaches (Chad Cheeney, Elke Brutsaert, Justin Biser and Lucas LeMaire) ever have to make simply because there are so many talented riders to choose from.
Last weekend in Grand Junction at Colorado Mesa Universities home meet he Skyhawks won the Rocky Mountain Collegiate Cycling Conference (RMCCC) team overall title and had many individual podiums in the series overall rankings. FLC Cycling won the title over strong teams from the University of Colorado, Colorado State University and the University of Wyoming. Having such good competition in the RMCCC is great preparation for the National competitions against not only top teams for the RMCCC but teams from perennial national powerhouses Marian University,  host Lees McRae College and Lindsay Wilson College.
At Nationals FLC will compete in Gravity events –  Downhill (DH) and Dual Slalom (DS) and Endurance events, Cross Country (XC) and Short Track XC (ST). Team Relay (TR) is a new, fun event this year that does not count in overall points. Each Collegaite team is allowed to bring 8 riders of each gender to compete in these events and it usually boils down to 4 riders per gender per discipline. Some riders are very adept at both Gravity and Endurance and will be competing in both disciplines in search of an Individual Omnium (IO) title. The Skyhawks have two returning National Champions competing at Beech, Lauren Catlin (XC, ST) and Brittany Clawson (DH).
There are a few ways to keep up with the team before and during the competitions. The teams blog site will have daily pictures and updates at, on Facebook by liking or following on Twitter @FLCCYCLING. Official results and stories can be found on
Brittany Clawson – DH, DS, ST, XC, IO
Becky Gardener – DH, DS
Meghan Kane – DH, DS, ST, IO
Leila Carrillo – DH, DS
Adam Digby – DH, DS
Zach Graveson – DH, DS
Phil Cowan – DH, DS
Brian White – DH, DS
Lauren Catlin – XC, ST
Sofia Gomez Villafane – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO
Liz Schwab – XC, ST
Sage Kitson – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO
Payson McElveen – XC, ST
Stephan Davoust – XC, ST
Garrett Lundberg – XC, ST
Michael Sampson – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO
Please wish the team luck on their travels and performances.


Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment