More rain, more mud, and more good, clean fun this weekend in Leadville at the Cloud City Challenge Race #2 as part of the Colorado High School League series.  Durango saw some champions today amidst some of the most epic conditions we have seen since the league started four years ago.  At 10,200 feet, racers started with packed waves of 100-200 riders.  The course started on a double track climb that went into some of the tightest single track in the high country.   “The trail was fun, rolly, sick and the sharp corners were fast and dicey due to the tight trees,” said AHS freshmen Austin Monroe.  Teammate George McQuinn explained it  as “like an underwater experience.”  “This course pushed a riders ability to corner with slick rocks, lots of twist and turns in the trees and tight cornering,” said head coach Garrett Alexander.  The day ended with another lightening thunder storm that caused race organizers to evacuate the Varsity/JV boys field off the course.  DHS/AHS team then started home but realized that with mud slides, flooding and snow on the passes that they should stay the night in Leadville.  They also had a teammate spend the night in the hospital due to a bad crash that ended in a broken bike and helmet.  “With the road conditions and having a teammate in the hospital, there was no question that we were going to stay the night and make sure everyone made it home safe,” said team director Sarah Tescher.  At the end of all the chaos, AHS emerged as the race champion and DHS taking home 2nd.  Race #3 in Elbert will take place Oct 6 and the state championships Oct 20th in Eagle.

Div I Team results

1.  Animas High

2.  Vail Valley Composite

3.  Summit High School

Div II Team Results

1.  Grand Valley

2.  Durango

3.  Leadville


Varsity Girls

1.  India Waller (AHS)

7.  Robin Austin (AHS)

10.  Sierra Trout (AHS)

Varsity Boys

23.  Nathaniel Rodd

JV Girls

1.  Camryn Sippy (AHS)

2.  Katja Freeburn (DHS)

JV DI Boys


2.  Keenan Desplanques (AHS)

15.  Quinn Haughey (AHS)

JV Div II Boys

7.  Charlie Greenberg (DHS)

8.  Bryce Gordon (DHS)

19.  Will Berger (DHS)

65.  Ross Kotlar

Sophomore Girls

2.  Ellen Campbell (DHS)

Freshmen Boys Div I

2.  Keiran Eagen (AHS)

4.  Perrin Kileen (AHS)

6.  George McQuinn (AHS)

 7.  Dylan Williamson (AHS)
9.  Andrew Middleton (AHS)
19.  Jimmy Pope (AHS)
26.  Austin Monroe (AHS)
61.  Geoffery Steiner (AHS)
Freshmen Boys Div II
3.  Lukas Robbins
11. Tye Sandavol


Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment